2004 Profile of the division of Wentworth

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after William Charles Wentworth 1790–1872, a noted Australian explorer and statesman. He accompanied Blaxland and Lawson on their crossing of the Blue Mountains.

Area and Location Description:

Wentworth covers an area of approximately 26 sq km from Darling Point along the southern shore of Sydney Harbour to Watson's Bay and down the coast to Clovelly. The western boundary runs along Randwick Racecourse and includes Centennial Park and Paddington. The division of Wentworth is the smallest geographical division in Australia. The main suburbs include Bellevue Hill, Bondi, Bondi Beach, Bondi Junction, Bronte, Clovelly (part), Darling Point, Dover Heights, Double Bay, Edgecliff, North Bondi, Paddington (part), Point Piper, Queens Park, Randwick (part), Rose Bay, Vaucluse, Watson's Bay, Waverley and Woollahra.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Finance, property, service, wholesale and retail trade, tourism, education, sport and recreation.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • TURNBULL, M (LP) 2004–
  • KING, P (LP) 2001–2004
  • THOMSON, A (LP) 1995–2001
  • HEWSON, J (LP) 1987–1995
  • COLEMAN, P (LP) 1981–1987
  • ELLICOTT, R J (LP) 1974–1981
  • BURY, L H E (LP) 1956–1974
  • HARRISON, E J (UAP/LP) 1931–1956
  • MARKS, W M (NP) 1919–1931
  • KELLY, W H (FT/ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1903–1919
  • MCMILLAN, W (FT) 1901–1903

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 84 987
  • Informal Vote: 6.18%
  • Turnout: 92.34%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 55.48% | ALP: 44.52%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.