2004 Profile of the division of Robertson

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir John Robertson 1816–91, former Premier of New South Wales.

Area and Location Description:

Robertson covers an area of approximately 785 sq km from the Hawkesbury River in the south, west to Wiseman's Ferry, north along the Gosford City Council boundary to Mangrove Creek, generally east by Warre Warren Creek to again meet the Gosford City Council boundary. Then south-east following the Wyong Shire Boundary to the Sydney/Newcastle freeway, east to Serpentine Road and to Terrigal and then south by the coast to Broken Bay and the Hawkesbury River. The main centres include Gosford, Terrigal, Woy Woy and Erina.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Citrus, vegetable and flower growing, poultry products, tourism, retail, service industries, light manufacturing and boat building.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • LLOYD, J (LP) 1996–
  • WALKER, F J (ALP) 1990–1996
  • COHEN, B (ALP) 1969–1990
  • BRIDGES-MAXWELL, C W (LP) 1964–1969
  • DEAN, R L (LP) 1949–1964
  • WILLIAMS, T F (ALP) 1943–1949
  • SPOONER, E S (UAP) 1940–1943
  • GARDNER, S L (NAT/UAP) 1922–1940
  • JOHNSON, W J (ALP) 1910–1913
  • WILLIS, H (FT/ANTI-SOC) 1901–1910

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 85 525
  • Informal Vote: 4.39%
  • Turnout: 95.38%
  • Seat Status: Fairly Safe Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 56.81% | ALP: 43.19%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.