2004 Profile of the division of McPherson

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the McPherson Range which forms the south western boundary of the division.

Area and Location Description:

McPherson covers an area of approximately 355 sq km from the New South Wales border in the south to Clear Island Waters and Merrimac in the north, and west to Mudgeeraba and Springbrook. It takes in the major part of the tourist strip of the Gold Coast from the New South Wales border through Coolangatta, Tugun, Currumbin, Elanora, Palm Beach, Burleigh Heads, Robina, Varity Lakes, Merrimac and Clear Island Waters in the north. It also includes the hinterland areas of Mudgeeraba, Currumbin Valley, Tallebudgera Valley and Springbrook.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Tourism and associated industries and a variety of small industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • MAY, M (LP) 1998–
  • BRADFORD, J (LP) 1990–1998
  • WHITE, P N D (LP) 1981–1990
  • ROBINSON, E L (LP) 1972–1981
  • BARNES, C E (CP) 1958–1972
  • FADDEN, A W (CP) 1949–1958

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 82 887
  • Informal Vote: 5.27%
  • Turnout: 93.16%
  • Seat Status: Safe Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 63.89% | ALP: 36.11%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.