2004 Profile of the division of Lindsay

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Norman Lindsay 1879–1969, a well known writer and artist.

Area and Location Description:

Lindsay covers an area of approximately 351 sq km from Claremont Meadows to Blaxland and from Agnes Banks, Londonderry, Berkshire Park in the north to Wallacia, Luddenham in the south. The main suburbs include Agnes Banks, Berkshire Park, Cambridge Park, Castlereagh, Claremont Meadows, Cranebrook, Emu Heights, Emu Plains, Glenbrook, Glenmore Park, Kingswood, Lapstone, Leonay, Llandilo, Luddenham, Mulgoa, Orchard Hills, Penrith, Regentville, Wallacia and Werrington, Werrington County and Werrington Downs.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Agriculture, farming (dairying, poultry, beef, fruit, vegetables), distilling (saki), construction and service industries, tourism, wholesale and retail trade, building materials, engineering and electrical equipment, textiles, plastic and aluminium products, colour TV manufacturing, pharmaceutical goods and concrete and gravel extraction.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • KELLY, J (LP) 1996–
  • FREE, R V (ALP) 1984–1996

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 82 793
  • Informal Vote: 7.45%
  • Turnout: 95.34%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 55.26% | ALP: 44.74%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.