2004 Profile of the division of Hotham

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Charles Hotham 1806–55, Governor of Victoria 1854–55.

Area and Location Description:

Hotham covers an area of approximately 72 sq km from Oakleigh in the north to Dingley Village in the south. The main suburbs include Bentleigh East, Carnegie, Clayton, Clayton South, Cheltenham, Dingley Village, Moorabbin, Murrumbeena, Noble Park, Oakleigh, Oakleigh South, Springvale and Springvale South.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light industry and commercial activity including light engineering and warehousing.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • CREAN, S (ALP) 1990–
  • KENT, L (ALP) 1980–1990
  • JOHNSTON, J R (LP) 1977–1980
  • CHIPP, D (LP/IND/DEM) 1969–1977

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 87 846
  • Informal Vote: 4.24%
  • Turnout: 94.55%
  • Seat Status: Fairly Safe Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 42.6% | ALP: 57.4%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.