2004 Profile of the division of Holt

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Harold Edward Holt 1908–67, Prime Minister of Australia 1966–67, who disappeared while swimming off Portsea Beach in 1967.

Area and Location Description:

Holt covers an area of approximately 145 sq km extending in a strip from Lysterfield South in the north to Cranbourne in the south. The main suburbs include Cranbourne, Cranbourne North, Cranbourne West, Doveton, Endeavour Hills, Eumemmerring, Hallam, Hampton Park, Lynbrook, Narre Warren South and parts of Berwick, Clyde, Clyde North, Cranbourne East, Lyndhurst, Lysterfield, Lysterfield South, Narre Warren and Narre Warren North.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light industry.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • BYRNE, A (ALP) 1999–
  • EVANS, G J (ALP) 1996–1999
  • DUFFY, M J (ALP) 1980–1996
  • YATES, W (LP) 1975–1980
  • OLDMEADOW, M W (ALP) 1972–1975
  • REID, S L (LP) 1969–1972

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 89 764
  • Informal Vote: 4.35%
  • Turnout: 95.05%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 48.49% | ALP: 51.51%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.