2004 Profile of the division of Higgins

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Henry Higgins 1851–1929, Member of the House of Representatives 1901–06, Justice of the High Court 1906–29 and President of the new Commonwealth Conciliation and Arbitration Court 1907–21.

Area and Location Description:

Higgins covers an area of approximately 39 sq km from Hughesdale in the south east, South Yarra and Toorak in the north west, Windsor in the south west, Camberwell in the north east, and Ashburton and Glen Iris in the east. The main suburbs include Armadale, Ashburton, Kooyong, Malvern, Malvern East, and Toorak. There are parts of Camberwell, Carnegie, Glen Iris, Hughesdale, Murrumbeena, Prahran, South Yarra and Windsor.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

The division is mainly residential, with retail and commercial interests in a number of suburbs.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • COSTELLO, P (LP) 1990–
  • SHIPTON, R F (LP) 1975–1990
  • GORTON, J G (LP/IND) 1968–1975
  • HOLT, H E (LP) 1949–1967

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 87 650
  • Informal Vote: 2.76%
  • Turnout: 92.97%
  • Seat Status: Fairly Safe Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 58.76% | ALP: 41.24%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.