2004 Profile of the division of Grayndler

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Edward Grayndler 1867–1943, a Member of the New South Wales Legislative Council 1921–34 and 1936–43. He was also appointed General Secretary of the Australian Workers' Union in 1912.

Area and Location Description:

Grayndler covers an area of approximately 29 sq km in the inner-southern Sydney metropolitan area. The main suburbs include Annandale, Ashbury, Ashfield, Camperdown, Canterbury, Dulwich Hill, Enmore, Hurlstone Park, Leichhardt, Lewisham, Lilyfield, Marrickville, Newtown, Petersham, St Peters, Stanmore, Summer Hill, Sydenham and Tempe.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Manufacturing and service industries, engineering works.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • ALBANESE, A (ALP) 1996–
  • MCHUGH, J (ALP) 1993–1996
  • MCLEAY, L B (ALP) 1979–1993
  • STEWART, F E (ALP) 1977–1979
  • WHITLAM, A P (ALP) 1975–1977
  • DALY, F M (ALP) 1949–1975

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 85 864
  • Informal Vote: 5.42%
  • Turnout: 92.94%
  • Seat Status: Safe Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 27.4% | ALP: 72.6%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.