2004 Profile of the division of Bruce

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Lord Stanley Bruce 1883–1967, Prime Minister of Australia 1923–29.

Area and Location Description:

Bruce covers an area of approximately 68 sq km including the suburbs of Dandenong Nth, Noble Park Nth, Mulgrave, Wheelers Hill and parts of Clayton, Dandenong, Springvale, Noble Park, Glen Waverley, and Notting Hill.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Diverse commercial activities including warehouse and light engineering.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • GRIFFIN, A (ALP) 1996–
  • BEALE, J H (LP) 1990–1996
  • ALDRED, K J (LP) 1983–1990
  • SNEDDEN, B M (LP) 1955–1983

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 86 999
  • Informal Vote: 4.43%
  • Turnout: 94.35%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 46.52% | ALP: 53.48%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.