2004 Profile of the division of Bonner

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Neville Thomas Bonner AO in recognition of his services rendered as a Senator and leader of indigenous Australia.

Area and Location Description:

Bonner covers an area of approximately 358 sq km.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Located in the division are the Port of Brisbane and other light industrial areas in Murarrie, Hemmant and Lytton. Four major shopping complexes are within Bonner. Cannon Hill, Carindale, Garden City and Wynnum Plaza. The main suburbs include Belmont, Burbank, Capalaba West, Carindale, Chandler, Gumdale, Hemmant, Holland Park, Holland Park West, Lota, Lytton, Mackenzie, Manly, Manly West, Mansfield, Moreton Island, Mt Gravatt, Murarrie, Ransome, Rochedale, Tingalpa, Upper Mt Gravatt, Wakerley, Wishart, Wynnum.and Wynnum West.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • VASTA, R (LP)–

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 87 034
  • Informal Vote: 5.64%
  • Turnout: 94.74%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 50.51% | ALP: 49.49%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.