2004 Profile of the division of Bendigo

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the city which is its main centre.

Area and Location Description:

Situated on the northern foothills of the Great Dividing Range in North Central Victoria and providing the southern gateway to the Murray Darling Basin, the seat of Bendigo covers an area of approximately 7 286 sq km.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Coming from the status of one of the world's great gold-rush towns and the greatest goldfield in Victoria, the main population centre (Bendigo) is now the administrative, commercial and educational centre for North Central and Northern Victoria. Streets lined with grand nineteenth century buildings provide for a strong tourist industry while the rural area of the electorate supports a diverse range of farming, agricultural and viticultural activities along with continuing gold mining and other extractive industries. Other large population centres in the electorate include Maryborough, Castlemaine and Kyneton.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • GIBBONS, S (ALP) 1998–
  • REID, B (LP) 1990–1998
  • BRUMBY, J M (ALP) 1983–1990
  • BOURCHIER, J W (LP) 1972–1983
  • KENNEDY, A D (ALP) 1969–1972
  • BEATON, N L (ALP) 1960–1969
  • CLAREY, P J (ALP) 1949–1960
  • RANKIN, G J (ST CP/UCP/CP) 1937–1949
  • HARRISON, E F (UAP) 1931–1937
  • KEAN, R V (ALP) 1929–1931
  • HURRY, G (NAT) 1922–1929
  • HUGHES, W M (NAT) 1917–1922
  • HAMPSON, A J (ALP) 1915–1917
  • ARTHUR, J A (ALP) 1913–1914
  • QUICK, J (PROT/IND PROT/LIB) 1901–1913

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 94 295
  • Informal Vote: 2.87%
  • Turnout: 96.20%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 49.04% | ALP: 50.96%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.