2004 Profile of the division of Barker

Updated: 29 September 2011


South Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Captain Collet Barker 1784–1831, an explorer in South Australia and the Northern Territory.

Area and Location Description:

Barker covers an area of approximately 64 015 sq km from Morgan in the North to Port MacDonnell in the south. The eastern boundary is the South Australian border. It includes the Upper and Lower South East, the Mallee, the Riverland, the Murrayland and most of the Barossa Valley. The towns of Barmera, Berri, Bordertown, Keith, Kingston SE, Loxton, Mannum, Millicent, Mount Gambier, Murray Bridge, Naracoorte, Nuriootpa, Penola, Renmark, Tanunda, Tailem Bend, and Waikerie are in this division.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Beef and dairy cattle, sheep, fishing, cropping, forestry, timber, paper products, wine, fresh and dried fruit, vegetables, transport and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • SECKER, P (LP) 1998–
  • MCLACHLAN, I (LP) 1990–1998
  • PORTER, J R (LP) 1975–1990
  • FORBES, A J (LP) 1956–1975
  • CAMERON, A G (CP/LP/LCL/LP) 1934–1956
  • CAMERON, M D (NAT/UAP/LP) 1922–1934
  • BONYTHON, J L (PROT) 1903–1906

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 100 934
  • Informal Vote: 5.87%
  • Turnout: 95.48%
  • Seat Status: Safe Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 69.88% | ALP: 30.12%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.