2004 Profile of the division of Riverina

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located.

Area and Location Description:

Riverina covers an area of approximately 44 970 sq km. The division is located in the south west of NSW, and runs east-west. In the east from the junction of the Hume and Sturt Highways and in the west extends to the Hay Plains generally following the Murrumbidgee River Valley. The rural cities of Wagga Wagga and Griffith are the largest centres; major towns in the division include Leeton, Cootamundra, Narrandera, Temora, Junee, Hay, Forest Hill, Coolamon and Gundagai.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Wheat, barley, canola, rice and cereal crops. Fat lambs, wool, poultry, dairying, cattle, ostrich, emu, deer, and goat farming. Food processing, fruit, grapes, and wine making. Flour-milling, concrete pipes, steel construction, brick kiln, saw milling, joinery, plaster works, tourism, education, and defence forces.

First Proclaimed/Election:

1901 (From 1984 to 1991 the division was known as Riverina-Darling.)

Demographic Rating:



  • HULL, K (NP) 1998–
  • HICKS, N J (NCP/NP) 1980–1998
  • FITZPATRICK, J (ALP) 1977–1980
  • SULLIVAN, J W (CP/NCP) 1974–1977
  • GRASSBY, A J (ALP) 1969–1974
  • ARMSTRONG, A A (CP) 1965–1969
  • ROBERTON, H S (CP) 1949–1965
  • LANGTRY, J I (ALP) 1940–1949
  • NOCK, H K (CP) 1931–1940
  • KILLEN, W W (CP) 1922–1931
  • CHANTER, J M (NAT & FARMERS) 1914–1922
  • FALKINER, F B S (LIB) 1913–1914
  • CHANTER, J M (PROT/ALP) 1904–1913
  • BLACKWOOD, R O (FT) 1903–1904
  • CHANTER, J M (PROT) 1901–1903

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 88 281
  • Informal Vote: 3.78%
  • Turnout: 95.71%
  • Seat Status: Safe National
  • Two Party Preferred: NP: 70.66% | ALP: 29.34%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.