2004 Profile of the division of Richmond

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located.

Area and Location Description:

Richmond covers an area of approximately 2 137 sq km from the New South Wales/Queensland border in the north to Lennox Head and Skennars Head in the south. The main towns include Alstonville, Bangalow, Brunswick Heads, Byron Bay, Kingscliff, Lennox Head, Mullumbimby, Murwillumbah, Ocean Shores, Pottsville, Suffolk Park, Tweed Heads and Wollongbar.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Tourism, commercial fishing, agriculture including dairy, beef cattle, tropical fruits, sugarcane, coffee and macadamia nuts, sugar processing, timber, light engineering, boat building and cottage industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • ELLIOT, J (ALP)–
  • ANTHONY, L (NP) 1996–2004
  • NEWELL, N J (ALP) 1990–1996
  • BLUNT, C W (NP) 1984–1990
  • ANTHONY, J D (CP/NCP/NP) 1957–1984
  • ANTHONY, H L (CP) 1937–1957
  • GREEN, R F (CP) 1922–1937
  • MASSEY-GREENE, W (LIB/NAT) 1910–1922
  • EWING, T T (PROT) 1901–1910

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 86 361
  • Informal Vote: 3.61%
  • Turnout: 94.68%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 49.81% | ALP: 50.19%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.