2004 Profile of the division of Parkes

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Henry Parkes 1815–96, former Premier of New South Wales and known as the 'Father of Federation'.

Area and Location Description:

Parkes covers an area of approximately 268 674 sq km from the Queensland border in the north, Grenfell, West Wyalong, Hillston and Ivanhoe in the south, from Dubbo in the east to the South Australian border in the west. The main towns include Broken Hill, Cobar, Dubbo, Forbes, Grenfell, Hillston, Narromine, Nyngan, Parkes, Warren and West Wyalong.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Mining, pastoral, mixed farming, fruit, timber, irrigation, comprehensive agricultural support services, flour, butter and meat processing, light engineering and construction industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:

1984 (There was previously a division with the name of Parkes which existed in the Sydney metropolitan area up until 1967.)

Demographic Rating:



  • COBB, J (NP) 2001–
  • LAWLER, A (NP) 1998–2001
  • COBB, M (NP) 1984–1998

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 81 972
  • Informal Vote: 3.95%
  • Turnout: 95.69%
  • Seat Status: Safe National
  • Two Party Preferred: NP: 64.4% | ALP: 35.6%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.