2004 Profile of the division of Page

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Earle Page 1880–1961, Member of the House of Representatives 1919–61. He served as caretaker Prime Minister of Australia during April 1939.

Area and Location Description:

Page covers an area of approximately 16 682 sq km from Iluka in the south to Ballina in the north on the coastal side, and from Hernani in the south to the Queensland border on the inland side. The main towns include Ballina, Casino, Grafton, Evans Head, Iluka Kyogle and Lismore.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Dairy and beef cattle, pigs, maize, tropical fruit, sugar cane, fishing, prawning, oysters, butter and dairy factories, timber mills, several abattoirs and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • CAUSLEY, I (NP) 1996–
  • WOODS, H F (ALP) 1990–1996
  • ROBINSON, I L (NP) 1984–1990

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 85 019
  • Informal Vote: 4.23%
  • Turnout: 95.34%
  • Seat Status: Marginal National
  • Two Party Preferred: NP: 54.23% | ALP: 45.77%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.