2004 Profile of the division of New England

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the area of New England, the largest highland area in Australia.

Area and Location Description:

New England covers an area of approximately 53 858 sq km from the Queensland border in the north to Tamworth in the south. The main towns include Armidale, Barraba, Bingara, Delungra, Glen Innes, Guyra, Inverell, Manilla, Tamworth, Tenterfield, Uralla, Urbenville and Walcha.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Cattle, sheep, grain, forestry, dairying, oats, maize, fruit, vegetables, tin-mining, bricks, trout hatchery, tourism, concrete pipeworks, leather goods, tannery, gemstones, tobacco, lucerne, honey, grain processing, rubber industry, plaster works and concrete.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • WINDSOR, T (IND) 2001–
  • ST CLAIR, S (NP) 1998–2001
  • SINCLAIR, I (CP/NCP/NP) 1963–1998
  • DRUMMOND, D H (CP) 1949–1963
  • ABBOTT, J P (CP) 1940–1949
  • THOMPSON, V C (CP) 1922-1940
  • HAY, A (NAT & FARMERS/CP/IND) 1919–1922
  • ABBOTT, P P (LIB/NAT) 1913–1919
  • FOSTER, F J (ALP) 1906–1913
  • LONSDALE, E (FT) 1903–1906
  • SAWERS, W B S C (PROT) 1901–1903

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 86 717
  • Informal Vote: 2.77%
  • Turnout: 95.40%
  • Seat Status: Safe Independent
  • Two Candidate Preferred: IND: 71.00% | NP: 29.00%
  • Two Party Preferred: NP: 63.21% | ALP: 36.79%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.