2004 Profile of the division of Kooyong

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the Aboriginal word meaning 'resting place'.

Area and Location Description:

Kooyong is an eastern inner metropolitan electorate covering an area of approximately 49 sq km stretching from Kew and Hawthorn in the west to Balwyn and Canterbury in the east, and from Balwyn North in the north to Hawthorn East and Camberwell in the south. Its suburbs include Balwyn, Balwyn North, Camberwell (part), Canterbury, Glen Iris (part), Hawthorn, Hawthorn East, Kew, Kew East and Surrey Hills (part).

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Predominantly residential with no major industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • GEORGIOU, P (LP) 1994–
  • PEACOCK, A S (LP) 1966–1994
  • MENZIES, R G (LP) 1934–1966
  • LATHAM, J G (LIB) 1922–1934
  • BEST, R (LIB) 1910–1922
  • KNOX, W (LIB) 1901–1910

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 87 107
  • Informal Vote: 2.90%
  • Turnout: 94.26%
  • Seat Status: Fairly Safe Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 59.58% | ALP: 40.42%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.