2004 Profile of the division of Kingsford Smith

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Charles Kingsford-Smith 1897–1935, Australia's most famous aviator.

Area and Location Description:

Kingsford Smith covers an area of approximately 62 sq km from Cape Banks, Botany Bay in the south to Randwick and Clovelly in the north. The main suburbs include Botany, Chifley, Clovelly (part), Coogee, Daceyville, Eastlakes, Hillsdale, Kensington, Kingsford, La Perouse, Little Bay, Malabar, Maroubra, Mascot, Matraville, Pagewood, Phillip Bay, Randwick (part), Rosebery and South Coogee.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Shipping, paper manufacturing, light manufacturing, commercial and retail businesses.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • BRERETON, L (ALP) 1990–2004
  • BOWEN, L F (ALP) 1969–1990
  • CURTIN, D J (ALP) 1955–1969
  • ANDERSON, G (ALP) 1949–1955

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 85 877
  • Informal Vote: 8.43%
  • Turnout: 93.74%
  • Seat Status: Fairly Safe Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 40.99% | ALP: 59.01%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.