2004 Profile of the division of Kennedy

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Edmund Kennedy 1818–48, explorer.

Area and Location Description:

Kennedy covers an area of approximately 564 701 sq km from the Gulf of Carpentaria and Mareeba in the north to Boulia in the south and from the Queensland border in the west to the Pacific Ocean in the east. The main towns include Atherton, Babinda, Camooweal, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Georgetown, Gordonvale, Hughenden, Ingham, Innisfail, Mareeba, Mount Isa, Normanton and Tully.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Mainly primary production including grains (sorghum, sunflowers, wheat), beef cattle, cotton, coal mining, gemstones, sheep, sugar, agricultural services, copper, gold, silver, tin, lead, zinc, uranium, fishing (prawns, crabs, barramundi), marble, tobacco, fruit and vegetables, peanuts, dairy products and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • KATTER, B (IND/NP) 1993–
  • HULLS, R J (ALP) 1990–1993
  • KATTER, R C (NP) 1966–1990
  • RIORDAN, W J F (FLP/ALP) 1936–1966
  • RIORDAN, D (FLP/ALP) 1929–1936
  • FRANCIS, G A (NAT) 1925–1929
  • MCDONALD, C (ALP) 1901–1925

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 92 089
  • Informal Vote: 4.44%
  • Turnout: 92.56%
  • Seat Status: Safe Independent
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 58.95% | ALP: 41.05%
  • Two Candidate Preferred: IND: 68.88% | ALP: 31.12%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.