2004 Profile of the division of Isaacs

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Isaac Isaacs 1855–1948, Member of the House of Representatives 1901–06, Chief Justice of the High Court 1930 and Governor-General of Australia 1931–36.

Area and Location Description:

Isaacs covers an area of approximately 171 sq km on the eastern side of Port Phillip Bay from Cheltenham to Seaford then inland to Skye and Noble Park. The main suburbs include Aspendale, Aspendale Gardens, Bonbeach, Braeside, Carrum, Carrum Downs, Chelsea, Chelsea Heights, Cheltenham, Dandenong South, Edithvale, Keysborough, Lyndhurst, Mentone, Mordialloc, Noble Park, Parkdale, Patterson Lakes, Skye, Springvale South and Waterways.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light manufacturing especially around Braeside.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • CORCORAN, A (ALP) 2000–
  • WILTON, G S (ALP) 1996–2000
  • ATKINSON, R A (LP) 1990–1996
  • CHARLES, D E (ALP) 1980–1990
  • BURNS, W G (LP) 1977–1980
  • HAMER, D J (LP) 1975–1977
  • CLAYTON, G (ALP) 1974–1975
  • HAMER, D J (LP) 1969–1974
  • HAWORTH, W C (LP) 1949–1969

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

SeeDivisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 92 938
  • Informal Vote: 5.04%
  • Turnout: 95.25%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 48.52% | ALP: 51.48%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.