2004 Profile of the division of Gwydir

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the Gwydir River which was discovered by Allan Cunningham in 1827 and named after Lord Gwydir. Coincidentally Gwydir is also an Aboriginal name meaning 'river with red banks'.

Area and Location Description:

Gwydir covers an area of approximately 185 604 sq km from the Queensland border in the north to Kandos in the south and Bourke in the west. The main towns include Aberdeen, Baradine, Boggabri, Bourke, Brewarrina, Coolah, Coonabarabran, Coonamble, Gilgandra, Gulgong, Gunnedah, Kandos, Mendooran, Moree, Mudgee, Narrabri, Quirindi, Rylstone, Scone, Walgett, Warialda, Wee Waa and Wellington.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Wool, beef, pork, wheat, cotton, oil seed crops, lucerne, fruit, vegetables, dairy cattle, horse, sheep and cattle studs, timber, coal and opal mining and wine growing.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • ANDERSON, J (NP) 1989–
  • HUNT, R J (CP/NCP/NP) 1969–1989
  • ALLAN, A I (CP) 1953–1969
  • TRELOAR, T J (CP) 1949–1953
  • SCULLY, W J (ALP) 1937–1949
  • ABBOTT, C L (CP) 1931–1937
  • CUNNINGHAM, L L (ALP) 1929–1931
  • ABBOTT, C L (CP) 1925–1929
  • CUNNINGHAM, L L (ALP) 1919–1925
  • WEBSTER, W (ALP) 1903–1919
  • CRUICKSHANK, G A (PROT) 1901–1903

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 82 626
  • Informal Vote: 3.60%
  • Turnout: 95.15%
  • Seat Status: Safe National
  • Two Party Preferred: NP: 68.39% | ALP: 31.61%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.