2004 Profile of the division of Grey

Updated: 29 September 2011


South Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir George Grey 1812–98, Governor of South Australia from 1841–45.

Area and Location Description:

Grey covers an area of approximately 904 881 sq km from the Western Australian, Northern Territory, Queensland and New South Wales borders to Marion Bay on the Yorke Peninsula and Eudunda in the south. The main towns include Ceduna, Port Lincoln, Whyalla, Port Augusta, Roxby Downs, Coober Pedy, Port Pirie, Kadina, Maitland, Orroroo, Peterborough, Burra and Eudunda.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Lead smelting, steel industry, tourism, fishing, oil, gas, opals, jade, iron ore, uranium, wheat, cattle, wool, forestry, salt and slate.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • WAKELIN, B (LP) 1993–
  • O'NEIL, L R T (ALP) 1983–1993
  • WALLIS, L (ALP) 1969–1983
  • JESSOP, D (LP) 1966–1969
  • MORTIMOR, J (ALP) 1963–1966
  • RUSSELL, E H D (ALP) 1949–1963
  • BADMAN, A O (UAP/CP) 1937–1949
  • MCBRIDE, P A M (UAP) 1931–1937
  • LACEY, A W (ALP) 1922–1931
  • POYNTON, A (FT/ALP/NAT) 1903–1922

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 97 291
  • Informal Vote: 5.05%
  • Turnout: 94.19%
  • Seat Status: Safe Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 63.82% | ALP: 36.18%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.