2004 Profile of the division of Gilmore

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Dame Mary Gilmore 1865–1962, a well known poet, author and journalist.

Area and Location Description:

Gilmore covers an area of approximately 5 612 sq km along the coast from Kiama in the north to Durras North in the south, then west to Moss Vale and Wingello. The main towns include Kiama, Nowra, Ulladulla, Moss Vale and Bundanoon.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Tourism, timber, dairy and beef cattle, paper mill, brickworks, light engineering, dairy factory, steel fabrication and fishing.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • GASH, J (LP) 1996–
  • KNOTT, P J (ALP) 1993–1996
  • SHARP, J R (NP) 1984–1993

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website.

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 87 620
  • Informal Vote: 4.23%
  • Turnout: 95.47%
  • Seat Status: Safe Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 60.08% | ALP: 39.92%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.