2004 Profile of the division of Eden-Monaro

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located.

Area and Location Description:

Eden-Monaro covers an area of approximately 30 946 sq km from Queanbeyan to South Durras in the north, south to the Victorian border, inland to the Great Dividing Range encompassing the border of the Australian Capital Territory. The main towns include Adaminaby, Batemans Bay, Bega, Berridale, Bodalla, Bombala, Braidwood, Bungendore, Captains Flat, Cooma, Dalmeny, Delegate, Eden, Jindabyne, Merimbula, Moruya, Narooma, Queanbeyan, Sutton and Tathra.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

The area around Bega produces vegetables, maize, butter, cheese and also contains fish canneries, timbermills and brickworks. The division also produces beans, dairy cattle, potatoes, wool and contains sawmills, wood-pulping factories and a eucalyptus distillery. The Snowy Mountains hydroelectric scheme and the tourist areas around Jindabyne are in this division.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • NAIRN, G (LP) 1996–
  • SNOW, J H J (ALP) 1983–1996
  • SAINSBURY, M E (LP) 1975–1983
  • WHAN, R B (ALP) 1972–1975
  • FRASER, A D (ALP) 1969–1972
  • MUNRO, D R (LP) 1966–1969
  • FRASER, A D (ALP) 1943–1966
  • PERKINS, J A (UAP) 1931–1943
  • CUSACK, J J (ALP) 1929–1931
  • PERKINS, J A (NAT) 1926–1929
  • CHAPMAN, A (PROT/LIB/NAT) 1901–1926

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 92 532
  • Informal Vote: 4.57%
  • Turnout: 95.28%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 52.14% | ALP: 47.86%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.