2004 Profile of the division of Dobell

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir William Dobell 1899–1970, a prominent Australian artist.

Area and Location Description:

Dobell covers an area of approximately 952 sq km which includes areas of Wyong Shire and Gosford City Council. The main towns include Bateau Bay, Berkeley Vale, Blue Haven, Gorokan, Ourimbah, The Entrance, Wamberal, Warnervale, Wyoming, Wyong and the Yarramalong Valley.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Fruit, vegetables, manufacturing industries, prawning, fishing, tourism and mixed farming.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • TICEHURST, K (LP) 2001–
  • LEE, M (ALP) 1984–2001

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 85 659
  • Informal Vote: 7.41%
  • Turnout: 95.07%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 55.9% | ALP: 44.1%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.