2004 Profile of the division of Dawson

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Andrew (Anderson) Dawson 1863–1910, Queensland's first Labor Premier 1899.

Area and Location Description:

Dawson covers an area of approximately 22 515 sq km from Clairview in the south to Giru in the north and also includes The Whitsunday Island Group such as Hamilton, Hayman, and South Molle. The main towns include Airlie Beach, Ayr, Bowen, Home Hill, Proserpine and Sarina as well as the City of Mackay.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Various small crops, prawn and fish farms, sugar (growing and refining), beef cattle, dairying, coal mining, abattoirs at Bakers Creek and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • KELLY, D (NP) 1996–
  • BRAITHWAITE, R A (NP) 1975–1996
  • PATTERSON, R A (ALP) 1966–1975
  • SHAW, G W (CP) 1963–1966
  • DAVIDSON, C W (CP) 1949–1963

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 91 615
  • Informal Vote: 5.41%
  • Turnout: 94.42%
  • Seat Status: Safe National
  • Two Party Preferred: NP: 60.38% | ALP: 39.62%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.