2004 Profile of the division of Cowper

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Charles Cowper 1807–75, Premier of New South Wales 25 August–2 October 1856.

Area and Location Description:

Cowper covers an area of approximately 7 700 sq km from Gladstone/Smithtown in the south to Yamba in the north. The main towns include Bellingen, Bowraville, Coffs Harbour, Dorrigo, Maclean, Macksville, Nambucca Heads, Sawtell, South West Rocks, Urunga, Woolgoolga and Yamba.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Fishing, forestry, agriculture – especially bananas – vegetables and dairy cattle, as well as tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • HARTSUYKER, L (NP) 2001–
  • NEHL, G (NP) 1984–2001
  • ROBINSON, I L (CP/NCP) 1963–1984
  • MCGUREN, F W (ALP) 1961–1963
  • PAGE, E C G (FSU/CP) 1919–1961
  • THOMSON, J (PROT/LIB/NAT) 1906–1919
  • LEE, H W (FT) 1903–1906
  • CLARKE, F (PROT) 1901–1903

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 85 043
  • Informal Vote: 4.04%
  • Turnout: 95.19%
  • Seat Status: Fairly Safe National
  • Two Party Preferred: NP: 56.45% | ALP: 43.55%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.