2004 Profile of the division of Corio

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Corio Bay which originated from an Aboriginal word 'coraiyo' meaning 'small marsupial' or 'sandy cliffs'.

Area and Location Description:

Corio covers an area of approximately 815 sq km from the western shores of Port Phillip Bay, stretching to the north of Geelong and inland and covering part of the Bellarine Peninsula. The suburbs and towns include Anakie, Avalon, Batesford, Bell Park, Bell Post Hill, Breakwater, Clifton Springs, Corio, Curlewis, Drysdale, Fyansford, East Geelong, Geelong, North Geelong, South Geelong, Geelong West, Hamlyn Heights, Herne Hill, Lara, Leopold, Lovely Banks, Manifold Heights, Moolap, Newcomb, Newtown, Norlane, North Shore, St Albans Park, Rippleside, Thomson and Whittington.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Many industries, including stevedoring, vehicle manufacturing plant, glass works, aluminium smelter, petroleum refinery, woollen mills, saltworks, dairy, poultry and mussel farming, fishing, wood chipping, wool scouring, fertiliser refining, tourism, tannery, carpet, clothing, shoes, chemical production and aeronautical services.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • O'CONNOR, G (ALP) 1993–
  • SCHOLES, G G D (ALP) 1967–1993
  • OPPERMAN, H F (LP) 1949–1967
  • DEDMAN, J J (ALP) 1940–1949
  • CASEY, R G (UAP) 1931–1940
  • LEWIS, A (ALP) 1929–1931
  • LISTER, J H (NAT) 1917–1929
  • OZANNE, A T (ALP) 1914–1917
  • KENDELL, W (LIB) 1913–1914
  • OZANNE, A T (ALP) 1910–1913
  • CROUCH, R A (PROT) 1901–1910

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 88 186
  • Informal Vote: 4.38%
  • Turnout: 95.03%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 44.36% | ALP: 55.64%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.