2004 Profile of the division of Casey

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Lord Richard Casey 1890–1976, Governor-General of Australia 1965–69.

Area and Location Description:

Casey covers an area of approximately 409 sq km from Ringwood East in the west to Seville East in the east, Coldstream in the north to Monbulk in the south. Major suburbs/towns include Chirnside Park, Coldstream, Croydon, Gruyere, Kilsyth, Lilydale, Monbulk, Montrose, Mooroolbark, Mount Evelyn, Seville, Seville East, Silvan, Wandin and Wandin East.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Market gardens, orchards, nurseries, flower farms, vineyards, tourism, light manufacturing and engineering.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • SMITH, T (LP) 2001–
  • WOOLDRIDGE, M (LP) 1998–2001
  • HALVERSON, R (LP) 1984–1998
  • STEEDMAN, A P (ALP) 1983–1984
  • FALCONER, P D (LP) 1975–1983
  • MATHEWS, C R (ALP) 1972–1975
  • HOWSON, P (LP) 1969–1972

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 86 943
  • Informal Vote: 3.85%
  • Turnout: 95.77%
  • Seat Status: Safe Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 61.35% | ALP: 38.65%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.