2004 Profile of the division of Calwell

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Arthur Calwell 1896–1973, Member of House of Representatives 1940–72, Leader of the Australian Labor Party 1960–67.

Area and Location Description:

Calwell covers an area of approximately 504 sq km from Craigieburn in the east to Sunbury in the west and from Tullamarine in the south to Clarkefield in the north. The localities it covers are Attwood, Broadmeadows, Bulla, Campbellfield, Coolaroo, Craigieburn, Dallas, Gladstone Park, Greenvale, Jacana, Kalkallo, Meadow Heights, Melbourne Airport, Mickleham, Oaklands Junction, Roxburgh Park, Somerton, Sunbury, Westmeadows, Wildwood and Yuroke.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Automobile manufacturing, food processing, general farming, horse studs, textiles, clothing, transport, telecommunications, airline industries, wine production and service industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • VAMVAKINOU, M (ALP) 2001–
  • THEOPHANOUS, A C (ALP/IND) 1984–2001

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 87 843
  • Informal Vote: 5.24%
  • Turnout: 95.35%
  • Seat Status: Fairly Safe Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 41.81% | ALP: 58.19%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.