2004 Profile of the division of Calare

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the Aboriginal name for the Lachlan River.

Area and Location Description:

Calare covers an area of approximately 21 621 sq km from the Blue Mountains in the east to Eugowra in the west, Bathurst Regional Council in the north to Blayney, Cowra and Oberon Shires in the South. The main towns include Bathurst, Blayney, Canowindra, Cowra, Eugowra, Lithgow, Molong, Oberon, Orange, Portland, Wallerawang and Yeoval.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Coal mining, gold mining, power generation, cement works, fruit growing, timber, vineyards, wool processing, transport industry, whitegoods manufacturing, agriculture and pastoral.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • ANDREN, P (IND) 1996–
  • SIMMONS, D W (ALP) 1983–1996
  • MACKENZIE, A J (NCP/NP) 1975–1983
  • ENGLAND, J A (CP/NCP) 1960–1975
  • HOWSE, J B (LP) 1946–1960
  • BREEN, J P (ALP) 1940–1946
  • THORBY, H V (CP) 1931–1940
  • GIBBONS, G A (ALP) 1929–1931
  • HOWSE, N R (NAT) 1922–1929
  • LAVELLE, T J (ALP) 1919–1922
  • PIGOTT, H R M (LIB/NAT) 1913–1919
  • BROWN, T (ALP) 1906–1913

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 88 134
  • Informal Vote: 3.53%
  • Turnout: 95.67%
  • Seat Status: Safe Independent
  • Two Candidate Preferred: IND: 71.24% | LP: 28.76%
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 51.1% | ALP: 48.9%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.