2004 Profile of the division of Blaxland

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Gregory Blaxland 1778–1853, an early Australian explorer of the Blue Mountains in New South Wales.

Area and Location Description:

Blaxland covers an area of approximately 54 sq km from Villawood and the George's River in the west to Strathfield South and Wiley Park in the east, Chester Hill and Chullora in the north to Canterbury and Milperra Roads in the south. The main suburbs include Bankstown, Bass Hill, Birrong, Chester Hill, Chullora, Condell Park, Georges Hall, Greenacre, Landsdowne, Mt. Lewis, Punchbowl, Sefton, Strathfield South, Villawood, Wiley Park and Yagoona.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Railway workshops, aircraft repairs, transport and storage industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • HATTON, M (ALP) 1996–
  • KEATING, P J (ALP) 1969–1996
  • HARRISON, E J (ALP) 1949–1969

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 82 445
  • Informal Vote: 10.70%
  • Turnout: 93.73%
  • Seat Status: Safe Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 37.13% | ALP: 62.87%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.