2004 Profile of the division of Banks

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after botanist Sir Joseph Banks 1743–1820, who accompanied Captain Cook on his voyage to Australia in 1770.

Area and Location Description:

Banks covers an area of approximately 55 sq km bordered by the Georges River in the west and south, the Illawarra railway line and King Georges Road in the east and Milperra and Canterbury Roads in the north. The main suburbs include East Hills, Lugarno, Narwee, Padstow, Padstow Heights, Panania, Peakhurst, Peakhurst Heights, Picnic Point, Revesby Heights, Riverwood and portions of Bankstown, Beverly Hills, Milperra, Mortdale, Oatley, Penshurst, Punchbowl, Revesby and Roselands.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light manufacturing, commercial and service industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • MELHAM, D (ALP) 1990–
  • MOUNTFORD, J G (ALP) 1980–1990
  • MARTIN, V J (ALP) 1969–1980
  • COSTA, D E (ALP) 1949–1969

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 83 292
  • Informal Vote: 7.35%
  • Turnout: 95.09%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 48.94% | ALP: 51.06%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.