2004 Profile of the division of Adelaide

Updated: 29 September 2011


South Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after the city of Adelaide which in turn was named after Queen Adelaide, wife of William IV.

Area and Location Description:

The division of Adelaide covers an area of approximately 75 sq km from Grand Junction Road in the north to Cross Road in the south. Suburbs include Ashford, Clarence Park, Enfield, Goodwood, Kent Town, Keswick, Kilburn, Maylands, North Adelaide, Northgate, Norwood, Parkside, Prospect, Rose Park, St Peters, Toorak Gardens, Unley, Walkerville and the City of Adelaide.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Markets, newspapers, military barracks, universities, brewery, Coca-Cola bottlers, rail/bus terminals and Adelaide central business district.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • ELLIS, K (ALP)–
  • WORTH, T (LP) 1993–2004
  • CATLEY, R (ALP) 1990–1993
  • PRATT, M P (LP) 1988–1990
  • HURFORD, C J (ALP) 1969–1988
  • JONES, A T (LP) 1966–1969
  • SEXTON, J C L (ALP) 1958–1966
  • CHAMBERS, C (ALP) 1943–1958
  • STACEY, F H (UAP) 1931–1943
  • YATES, G E (ALP) 1922–1931
  • BLUNDELL, R P (NAT) 1919–1922
  • YATES, G E (ALP) 1914–1919
  • ROBERTS, E A (ALP) 1908–1913
  • KINGSTON, C C (PROT) 1903–1908

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 95 060
  • Informal Vote: 4.40%
  • Turnout: 93.62%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 48.67% | ALP: 51.33%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.