2001 Profile of the division of Prospect

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the Prospect reservoir.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 159 sq km bordered by South Creek in the west, the Western Motorway in the north, the Cumberland Hwy and Prospect Creek in the east and Orphan School Creek, Humphries, Canley Vale, Smithfield and Edensor Rds and Elizabeth Dr in the south.

Suburbs include Abbotsbury, Blacktown, Bossley Park, Canley Vale, Cecil Park, Eastern Creek, Edensor Park, Erskine Park, Fairfield, Fairfield Heights, Fairfield West, Greenfield Park, Greystanes, Horsley Park, Kemps Creek, Mount Vernon, Prairiewood, Prospect, St Clair, Smithfield, Wakeley, Wetherill Park and Woodpark.

Products/Industries of the area:

Building/construction, light manufacturing, wholesale and retail, transport industry, agriculture and farming (poultry, fruit, vegetables and honey).

First Proclaimed



  • Janice Crosio (ALP) 1990–
  • R E Klugman (ALP) 1969–90

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses.

Demographic Rating

Outer Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 78 030

Informal Vote: 6.48%

Turnout: 95.08%

Seat Status: Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 69.71%
  • LP: 30.29%

Enrolment: 79 126

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 1.35%
  • Preamble Question 1.57%


  • Republic Question 95.33%
  • Preamble Question 95.32%

Enrolment: 86 641

Informal Vote: 8.99%

Turnout: 95.29%

Seat Status: Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 62.81%
  • LP: 37.19%