2001 Profile of the division of Murray

Updated: 12 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the Murray River which was named by Charles Sturt (1795–1869) in 1830 after Sir George Murray, Colonial Secretary.

Area and Location Description:

The division of Murray covers an area of approximately 15 907 sq km. Its boundaries extend from Lalbert situated in the north west corner of the division south to Serpentine, bordering the divisions of Bendigo, Indi and McEwen. It extends east to Dookie and north along the State border.

The main towns include Cobram, Cohuna, Echuca, Kerang, Kyabram, Mooroopna, Murchison, Nathalia, Numurkah, Rochester, Rushworth, Shepparton and Tatura.

Products/Industries of the area:

Sheep, wheat, dairy and fruit processing industries.

First Proclaimed/Election



  • Sharman Stone (LP) 1996–
  • B Lloyd (CP/NCP/NP) 1971–96
  • J McEwen (CP) 1949–71

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 83 571

Informal Vote: 3.42%

Turnout: 96.05%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 27.94%
  • LP: 72.06%

Enrolment: 84 898

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.74%
  • Preamble Question 0.77%


  • Republic Question 96.06%
  • Preamble Question 96.06%

Enrolment: 85 651

Informal Vote: 3.53%

Turnout: 96.29%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 26.07%
  • LP: 73.93%