2001 Profile of the division of Mallee

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located. Mallee is an Aboriginal word for dwarf eucalypts which grow in the area.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 66 632 sq km in the north-west corner of Victoria. It is bordered by the Murray River in the north, the South Australian border in the west, the divisions of Wannon and Ballarat in the south, and the divisions of Bendigo and Murray in the east.

The main centres are Mildura and Swan Hill in the north, Warracknabeal and Horsham in the south and St Arnaud in the south east.

Products/Industries of the area:

Dried fruit, citrus, stone fruit, wheat and cereals, wool, sheep, vegetables, vineyards, olive oil, dairying, beef cattle, pig raising, meat works, gold mining and flour milling.

First Proclaimed/Election



  • John Forrest (NP) 1993–
  • P S Fisher (CP/NCP/NP) 1972–93
  • W G Turnbull (CP) 1949–72

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 80 825

Informal Vote: 2.91%

Turnout: 96.13%

Seat Status: Safe National

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 30.63%
  • NP: 69.37%

Enrolment: 81 578

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.74%
  • Preamble Question 0.80%


  • Republic Question 96.10%
  • Preamble Question 96.11%

Enrolment: 81 774

Informal Vote: 3.62%

Turnout: 96.18%

Seat Status: Safe National

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 30.07%
  • NP: 69.93%