2001 Profile of the division of Macarthur

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Captain John Macarthur (1767–1834) and Elizabeth Macarthur (1769–1850) early settlers in Australia and an influential force on the colony. They were the founders of the Australian merino wool industry.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 573 sq km stretching from Badgery's Creek in the north. East of the Nepean River to the north of Woodbridge Road and part east of Remembrance Drive in the Wollondilly Shire.

Macarthur shares common boundaries with the Division of Lindsay in the north, Werriwa, Hughes and Cunningham in the east, and Hume in the south.

The main towns include Badgery's Creek, Bringelly, Camden, Campbelltown, Cobbitty, Leppington, Mount Annan, Narellan and Wedderburn.

Products/Industries of the area:

The main industry is small business and commercial. The area also produces fruit, vegetables, lucerne and fodder crops, wine and is a centre for dairying, horse-breeding/agistment and tourism.

First Proclaimed



  • Patrick Farmer (LP) 2001–
  • J Fahey (LP) 1996–2001
  • C D Haviland (ALP) 1993–96
  • S P Martin (ALP) 1984–93
  • C Hollis (ALP) 1983–84
  • M E Baume (LP) 1975–83
  • J C Kerin (ALP) 1972–75
  • H J Bate (LP) 1949–72

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating

Outer Urban

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 91 700

Informal Vote: 3.40%

Turnout: 95.49%

Seat Status: Marginal Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 44.37%
  • LP: 55.63%

Enrolment: 96 198

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.87%
  • Preamble Question 1.02%


  • Republic Question 95.73%
  • Preamble Question 95.73%

Enrolment: 80 127

Informal Vote: 5.93%

Turnout: %94.94

Seat Status: Fairly Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 43.04%
  • LP: 56.96%