2001 Profile of the division of Hunter

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after John Hunter (1737–1821) the second Governor of New South Wales (1795–1799). He was also involved in many sea and land explorations and expeditions and encouraged the study of Australian wildlife.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 10 594sq km from Maitland in the east to Denman in the west, Muswellbrook in the north and south to Wollombi.

The main towns include Branxton, Cessnock, Denman, Kurri Kurri, Maitland, Muswellbrook, and Singleton.

Products/Industries of the area:

Aluminium smelting, coal-mining, wine grapes, dairying, timber, clothing manufacture, wheat, wool, lambs, beef and dairy cattle, pigs, oats, hay, lucerne, fruit, vegetables, hardwood, timber milling, engineering works and stud farms. Liddell Power Station and Bays Water Power Station are also in the division.

First Proclaimed



  • Joel Fitzgibbon (ALP) 1996–
  • E J Fitzgibbon (ALP) 1984–96
  • R J Brown (ALP) 1980–84
  • A W James (ALP) 1960–80
  • H V Evatt (ALP) 1958–60
  • R James (ALP) 1928–58
  • M Charlton (ALP) 1910–28
  • F Liddell (FT/ANTI-SOC) 1903–10
  • E Barton (PROT) 1901–03

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 77 139

Informal Vote: 3.29%

Turnout: 96.16%

Seat Status: Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 64.69%
  • LP: 35.31%

Enrolment: 77 641

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.69%
  • Preamble Question 0.83%


  • Republic Question 96.50%
  • Preamble Question 96.50%

Enrolment: 84 649

Informal Vote: 3.42%

Turnout: 96.13%

Seat Status: Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 60.86%
  • NP: 39.14%