2001 Profile of the division of Groom

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Littleton Groom (1867–1936), Member of the House of Representatives (1901–1929 and 1931–1936). Sir Littleton Groom was Speaker of the House of Representatives (1926–1929).

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of 6417 sq km and is located in the Darling Downs region of south east Queensland.

The major population centre is Toowoomba which is Australia's largest inland town. Other major towns in the division include Oakey and Pittsworth.

Products/Industries of the area:

This area is noted for its rich and diverse range of products and industries including agriculture, retailing and food processing as well as for the provision of educational and community services.

Toowoomba is known throughout Australia as the Garden City and is generally considered to be one of the most attractive places to live in Australia. The University of Southern Queensland is located in Toowoomba while the Army Aviation Centre is based at Oakey.

First Proclaimed/Election



  • Ian Macfarlane (LP) 1998–
  • Bill Taylor (LP) 1988–98
  • Tom McVeigh (NP) 1984–88

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 80 378

Informal Vote: 2.74%

Turnout: 95.27%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 36.96%
  • LP: 63.04%

Enrolment: 81 948

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.56%
  • Preamble Question 0.59%


  • Republic Question 95.80%
  • Preamble Question 95.81%

Enrolment: 84 838

Informal Vote: 3.43%

Turnout: 95.27%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 34.91%
  • LP: 65.09%