2001 Profile of the division of Greenway

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Francis Howard Greenway (1777–1837), an architect under Governor Macquarie. He designed Australia's first lighthouse at South Head and designed and supervised the construction of many public buildings in and around Sydney.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 120 sq km from South Creek and Bandon Road, Riverstone in the north to the Great Western Motorway and the south-east portion of the Blacktown City Council boundary in the south, and then bounded by Windsor Road and Old Windsor Road in the east and Richmond Road, Lyton Street, Lancaster Street, Bungarribee Road and Walters Road in the west. The main suburbs include: Acacia Gardens, Blacktown, Dean Park, Glenwood, Kings Langley, Kings Park, Lalor Park, Marayong, Marsden Park, Prospect, Parklea, Quakers Hill, Riverstone, Schofields, Seven Hills and Stanhope Gardens.

Products/Industries of the area:

Heavy engineering, smash repairs, electronics, food processing and warehousing and distribution.

First Proclaimed



  • Frank Mossfield (ALP) 1996–
  • R N J Gorman (ALP) 1984–96

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating

Outer Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 83 328

Informal Vote: 5.51%

Turnout: 95.09%

Seat Status: Fairly safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 59.94%
  • LP: 40.06%

Enrolment: 88 608

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 1.21%
  • Preamble Question 1.31%


  • Republic Question 95.56%
  • Preamble Question 95.56%

Enrolment: 85 876

Informal Vote: 6.79%

Turnout: 94.81%

Seat Status: Marginal Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 53.11%
  • LP: 46.89%