2001 Profile of the division of Gellibrand

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Joseph Tice Gellibrand (1786–1836), lawyer and explorer.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 75 sq km from Maribyrnong and Sunshine in the north to Williamstown on Port Phillip Bay in the south.

The main suburbs include Albion, Ardeer, Altona North, Braybrook, Brooklyn, Footscray, Footscray West, Maidstone, Maribyrnong, Newport, Spotswood, Sunshine, Tottenham, Yarraville and Williamstown.

Products/Industries of the area:

Food processing, petrochemical and carbon products. Heavy industry includes tyre factories, one of Australia's largest marine engineering facilities, power station, railway workshops, paper recycling and ropeworks. Other industries include tertiary sector education and retail.

First Proclaimed/Election



  • Nicola Roxon (ALP) 1998–
  • R Willis (ALP) 1972–98
  • H J McIvor (ALP) 1955–72
  • J M Mullens (ALP) 1949–55

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating

Inner Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 84 912

Informal Vote: 4.22%

Turnout: 93.75%

Seat Status: Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 75.91%
  • LP: 24.09%

Enrolment: 85 563

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 1.30%
  • Preamble Question 1.42%


  • Republic Question 93.60%
  • Preamble Question 93.57%

Enrolment: 86 496

Informal Vote: 4.9%

Turnout: 92.84%

Seat Status: Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 71.78%
  • LP: 28.22%