2001 Profile of the division of Fairfax

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Ruth Beatrice Fairfax (1878–1948), a founder of the Country Women's Association and its first Queensland President.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 4270 sq km taking in the whole of the Noosa Shire, part of the Maroochy Shire and part of the Cooloola Shire.

The main towns include Coolum Beach, Cooroy, Eumundi, Gympie, Kenilworth, Nambour, Noosa, Pomona, Tewantin and Yandina.

Products/Industries of the area:

Avocados, ginger, sugar cane, fruit juice, various tropical and exotic fruits, gold, timber and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election



  • Alex Somlyay (LP) 1990–
  • A E Adermann (NP) 1984–90

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 76 052

Informal Vote: 3.76%

Turnout: 93.71%

Seat Status: Marginal Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 45.64%
  • LP: 54.36%

Enrolment: 78 319

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.70%
  • Preamble Question 0.78%


  • Republic Question 94.56%
  • Preamble Question 94.63%

Enrolment: 84 217

Informal Vote: 4.27%

Turnout: 94.55%

Seat Status: Fairly Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 40.79%
  • LP: 59.21%