2001 Profile of the division of Blair

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Harold Blair (1924–1976), a noted Australian tenor and Aboriginal activist.

Area and Location Description:

Blair covers an area of approximately 15 095 sq km to the west of Brisbane from Ipswich through the Lockyer Valley to the foot of the Great Dividing Range near Toowoomba, and north to the Kingaroy area through the Brisbane Valley and South Burnett.

The main towns are Crows Nest, Esk, Gatton, Ipswich City (northern and western parts), Kingaroy, Kilcoy, Laidley, Nanango, Toogoolawah and Yarraman.

Products/Industries of the area:

Located in the division are the Wivenhoe and Somerset dams which provide most of the water supply to the Brisbane area, and the Tarong power station located between Nanango and Kingaroy. Kingaroy is also the peanut capital of Australia. Other primary production includes bean and grain crops, vegetables, lucerne, sunflower and deer farming, as well as open-cut coal mining. A campus of the University of Queensland is situated near Gatton.

First Proclaimed/Election



  • Cameron Thompson (LP) 1998–

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 74 211

Informal Vote: 3.59%

Turnout: 95.28%

Seat Status: Marginal Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 41.97%
  • LP: 58.03%

Two Candidate Preferred:*

  • LP: 53.40%
  • HAN: 46.60

Enrolment: 74 824

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.60%
  • Preamble Question 0.67%


  • Republic Question 95.86%
  • Preamble Question 95.87%

Enrolment: 76 853

Informal Vote: 5.32%

Turnout: 95.68%

Seat Status: Fairly Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 41.50%
  • LP: 58.50%

*based on distribution of preferences between LP and HAN candidates.