2001 Profile of the division of Port Adelaide

Updated: 9 February 2011


South Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after the locality which was discovered by Captain Collett Barker in 1831.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 234 sq km from Buckland Park in the north down to Grange Road in the south whilst its eastern boundary weaves through the suburbs of Allenby Gardens, Regency Park, Dry Creek and then out to the Port Wakefield Road. The area also includes Torrens Island and Garden Island.

Other suburbs in this division are Alberton, Beverley, Birkenhead, Cheltenham, Findon, Grange, Kilkenny, Largs Bay, Mansfield Park, North Haven, Ottoway, Pennington, Port Adelaide, Queenstown, Rosewater, Seaton, Semaphore, Tennyson, West Lakes, Woodville and West Croydon.

Products/Industries of the area:

Cement, electricity, flour mills, live sheep export, manufacturing industry, motion pictures, petroleum storage, police academy, salt, sewerage treatment, stevedoring, submarine construction, waste disposal/scrap metal merchants and wool stores.

First Proclaimed



  • Rod Sawford (ALP) 1988–
  • M J Young (ALP) 1974–88
  • F R Birrell (ALP) 1963–74
  • A V Thompson (ALP) 1949–63

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses.

Demographic Rating

Inner Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 82 248

Informal Vote: 5.54%

Turnout: 95.62%

Seat Status: Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 66.10%
  • LP: 33.90%

Enrolment: 86 325

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 1.13%
  • Preamble Question 1.24%


  • Republic Question 95.59%
  • Preamble Question 95.60%

Enrolment: 86 297

Informal Vote: 6.86%

Turnout: 95.03%

Seat Status: Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 64.65%
  • LP: 35.35%