2001 Profile of the division of O'Connor

Updated: 9 February 2011


Western Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Charles Yelverton O'Connor (1843–1902), Engineer in Chief of Western Australia (appointed 1891) who designed Fremantle Harbour and the pipeline which supplies Kalgoorlie and the eastern goldfields with water.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 179 047 sq km from Geraldton in the north to Albany in the south.

The main locations include the City of Albany and the City of Geraldton, and the regional centres of Carnamah, Corrigin, Dalwallinu, Denmark, Dowerin, Katanning, Kellerberrin, Kojonup, Lake Grace, Mount Barker, Mingenew, Moora, Morawa, Mukinbudin, Ravensthorpe and Wagin.

Products/Industries of the area:

Grain, sheep, cattle, tree farming, fishing, and aquaculture, vineyards and winemaking, talc and mineral sands mining, farmstays and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election



  • Wilson Tuckey (LP) 1980–

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 83 913

Informal Vote: 4.84%

Turnout: 95.33%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 34.86%
  • LP: 65.14%

Enrolment: 84 559

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.76%
  • Preamble Question 0.83%


  • Republic Question 95.09%
  • Preamble Question 95.09%

Enrolment: 83 118

Informal Vote: 5.92%

Turnout: 95.3%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 30.91%
  • LP: 69.09%