2001 Profile of the division of Banks

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after botanist Sir Joseph Banks (1743–1820) who accompanied Captain James Cook on his voyage to Australia in 1770. It was Banks who recommended Botany Bay as a suitable site for a penal settlement.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 55 sq km bordered by the Georges River in the west and south, the Illawarra railway line and King Georges Road in the east and Milperra and Canterbury Roads in the north.

The main suburbs include East Hills, Lugarno, Narwee, Padstow, Padstow Heights, Panania, Peakhurst, Peakhurst Heights, Picnic Point, Revesby Heights, Riverwood and portions of Bankstown, Beverly Hills, Milperra, Mortdale, Oatley, Penshurst, Punchbowl, Revesby and Roselands.

Products/Industries of the area:

Light manufacturing, commercial and service industries.

First Proclaimed



  • Daryl Melham (ALP) 1990–
  • J G Mountford (ALP) 1980–90
  • V J Martin (ALP) 1969–80
  • D E Costa (ALP) 1949–69

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating

Inner Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 80 108

Informal Vote: 3.94%

Turnout: 95.16%

Seat Status: Fairly safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 57.11%
  • LP: 42.89%

Enrolment: 80 254

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.94%
  • Preamble Question 1.10%


  • Republic Question 95.44%
  • Preamble Question 95.46%

Enrolment: 83 122

Informal Vote: 6.83%

Turnout: 95.1%

Seat Status: Marginal Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 52.89%
  • LP: 47.11%