2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Prospect

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the Prospect reservoir.

Area and Location Description:

Prospect covers an area of approximately 164 sq km bounded by Ropes and South Creeks in the west, the Great Western Highway and the Western Motorway in the north, Burnett Street, Kenyons Road, Sherwood Road, disused Sydney Water Supply Pipeline, Betts Road, Warren Road, Prospect Creek, Cumberland Highway and Prospect Creek in the east, with Orphan School Creek, Bus T-Way, Prairie Vale Road, Cowpasture Road and Elizabeth Drive generally providing the boundary in the south. Suburbs include Erskine Park, Fairfield Heights, Fairfield West, Greystanes, Horsley Park, Huntingwood, Minchinbury, Mount Vernon, Pemulwuy, St Clair, Wetherill Park and parts of Abbotsbury, Blacktown, Bossley Park, Canley Vale, Cecil Park, Eastern Creek, Fairfield, Kemps Creek, Merrylands, Merrylands West, Prairiewood, Prospect, Smithfield and South Wentworthville.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Building/construction, light manufacturing, wholesale and retail, transport industry, agriculture and mixed farming.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Bowen, C (ALP) 2004–
  • Crosio, J (ALP) 1990–2004
  • Klugman, R E (ALP) 1969–1990

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Prospect

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.