



Suggestion 185

Town of Gawler ^{2 pages}

From: Angela Savelli

Sent: Wednesday, 29 November 2017 10:53 AM

To: FedRedistribution - SA

Subject: Redistribution of Federal Electoral Divisions in South Australia

Attachments: 201711290938.pdf

Dear Sir/Madam

Please find the attached letter from the Town of Gawler relating to the redistribution of the Federal Electoral Divisions in South Australia.

Let me know if you have any further queries.

Kind regards

Angela

Angela Savelli | Executive Assistant - CEO & Mayor

Town of Gawler I PO Box 130 I Gawler SA 5118

www.gawler.sa.gov.au



The Town of Gawler is committed to providing our customers with excellent service. If we can assist you in any way, please telephone (08) 8522 9211, email council@gawler.sa.gov.au or visit our website http://www.gawler.sa.gov.au The information contained in this email is intended only for the named recipient only and may be confidential, legally privileged or commercially sensitive. If you are not the intended recipient you must not reproduce or distribute any part of this email, disclose its contents to any other party, or take any action in reliance on it. If you have received this email in error, please contact the sender immediately. Please delete this email from your computer. The Town of Gawler advises that, in order to comply with its obligations under the State Records Act 1997 and the Freedom of Information Act 1991, email messages sent to or received by Council may be monitored or accessed by Council staff other than the intended recipient. No representation is made that the email or any attachment is free of viruses or other defects. Virus scanning is recommended and is the responsibility of the recipient. THINK BEFORE YOU PRINT

OFFICE OF THE MAYOR



Town of Gawler

Contact: Karen Redman

Ref:

KR:ts CC10/581

28 November 2017

43 High Street Gawler East SA 5118 PO Box 130 Gawler SA 5118 Phone: (08) 8522 9211

Phone: (08) 8522 9211 Fax: (08) 8522 9212 council@gawler.sa.gov.au gawler.sa.gov.au

Redistribution Committee for South Australia Australian Electoral Commission Level 9, 1 King William Street Adelaide

FedRedistribution-SA@aec.gov.au

Dear Sir/Madam

Re: Redistribution of Federal Electoral Divisions in South Australia

Thank you for the opportunity to provide suggestions on the redistribution process as evidenced by the recent announcement to reduce the number of Federal electoral divisions in South Australia from 11 to 10 as a result of a determination made by the Electoral Commissioner on Thursday 31 August 2017.

The Town of Gawler local government area is currently situated wholly within the Federal electorate of Wakefield which may be affected by a redistribution of electoral divisions. Gawler is South Australia's first planned country town and an important historical and regional centre. Our Council puts forward suggested criteria for your process.

- The Council and our community wish our Council area (Town of Gawler) to be contained in one electorate. This is essential to maintain a cohesive community.
- Council also supports including in the one electorate with Gawler areas of community and geographical connection. This would include particularly areas close to Gawler including the lower north area which use Gawler as a regional business and services centre and which have strong social connections. Town of Gawler has strong strategic alliances with neighbouring Councils that form part of the state Barossa administrative region, namely The Barossa Council, Light Regional Council and Adelaide Plains Council). Similarly for areas covered by the Gawler River catchment which is a focus for natural resources management and flood management.

Thank you for the opportunity to provide suggestions as part of the redistribution process of Federal Electoral Divisions in South Australia. We look forward to your draft proposals.

Kind Regards

Karen Redman Mayor		
Direct line:		